One Month Open Letter

Standard

To my beautiful son,

Today you are one month old.

I can hardly believe you are already a whole month old. You are the most beautiful creature I have ever set eyes on and you continue to amaze me each and every day.

We have days where we annoy each other; you on your days of endless crying or refusal to sleep and me when I can’t figure out how to fix what may be bothering you and there are surely more to come. (Like today, for example.) But even when I cannot easily solve your dilemmas you still never fail to gaze upon me with an unconditional love and adoration in your eyes that always reassures me on the worst of days. You make all the struggles and frustration worth while with one simple smile.

I never knew that, not only a love but, a bond such as this could ever exist. I hardly remember who I was before you and never want to be reminded of it if it means forgetting this. You have fully captured my heart and as long as I have you, there isn’t anything else I need in this world.

At a month old you are already trying to hold your head on your own and aren’t doing half bad. You practice your smiling skills everyday, although I’m not fully convinced it isn’t entirely poop or gas related. Everyday I make sure to give you tummy time so you can work your little muscles. You don’t know what to make of it quite yet: you don’t hate or love it. I think you tolerate it more to satisfy me and because you know there is no getting around it. You love being around your hectic family and seem to sleep better when you’re around them. This severely bums them out since they want nothing more than to play with you already. If only they could see you when you get home though. The second you get back in our house you are bright eyed and bushy tailed…and screaming.

The first time you met your great-great-grandmother, abuelita, she thought your were a baby doll. She didn’t not believe you to be a real baby although age is starting to catch up to her. Your family adores you! Do not ever forget that.

I love you very much and am so proud to call myself your mommy. Here’s to many more months and years of adventure.

image

Leave a Reply

