Belated 7 Month Open Letter

Standard

Dear son,

Look at how you’ve grown! How quickly and how big you are getting! I miss cradling you in my arms and now I fight to keep you from jumping from them. I can’t help but feel that before long I’ll be wrestling you for those hugs.

You now stand 2 and a quarter feet tall and have just had your SECOND tooth break through. And let me say, I just cannot wait until the whole teething thing is done and over with.

You wave now, but only on your terms which are at completely random moments. You have learned how to clap your hands and how to dance. You are more than ready to balance on your own but haven’t quite nailed it yet but you gain more confidence each and everyday. Why, just a few days ago you stood on your own for a whole 3 seconds. You may think, “pfft, that’s nothing.” But when you’re learning as many new things at once as you are and for the first time, it’s kind of a big deal.

You have learned how to shake your head “no.” I thought I had a while before this moment. Like, another 6 months to a year. To my dismay, you’re already telling me no to everything!

“Did you poop!?”
*shakes head no vigorously* (there usually is poop)
“Get your hands off the TV, boy!”
*shakes head no with sly smile*
“Does this dress make mommy look fat?”
*nods head yes*

You are still completely obsessed with the cat. It is the cutest thing. You used to chase after her to pet her (or grab her fur then yank it out.) Now you chase after her just to chase her. That is your favorite game.

You have also learned to give super slobbery kisses. You basically try to eat the person’s chin. In the case of your grandfather, who has a goatee, his nose.

You are an amazing, beautiful, strong being. And I love you so much. You are the best that has ever happened in my life and I wouldn’t trade you for anything at all in this world.

I love you. I can’t wait to see what else you’ll learn.

Mommy

Leave a Reply

